An Introduction to the Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games, founded in 1930 and originally called the British Empire Games, were conceived as a multi-sport competitive event between the countries that were ruled by Britannia. They went through various re-namings until today’s version, as politics and attitudes shifted. Like the Olympics, these Games are held every 4 years and have been since 1930, with the exceptions of 1942 and 1946 when they were cancelled due to World War II. Over the years, 6 countries have attended every edition of the Games, namely Canada, Australia, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales. Overall Australia has been the most successful nation, being the highest achieving team no less than 12 times.

Continue reading An Introduction to the Commonwealth Games